The Garden of the Bishop’s Close, known as Elk Rock, was created over a period of many years by Mr. and Mrs. Peter Kerr. Starting approximately in 1916, Mr. Kerr, an ardent amateur gardener, started on his long cherished plans for an extensive garden. Mrs. Kerr was one of Portland’s early championship golfers and, while not a gardener herself, she encouraged her husband in the creation of one of the great gardens of the Northwest.
In 1957, when Mr. Kerr died at the age of ninety-five, the house and garden were given by his daughters to the Episcopal Bishop of Oregon together with an endowment for the care and maintenance of the garden, with the stipulation that the garden be opened to visitors.
The garden is a hidden gem, located along Hwy. 43 between Lake Oswego and Portland.